Music Monday No. 2

Hey look at me one week later and I am still keeping my word! Of course there is still time for me to fall off the consistency wagon 😉 This weeks Music Monday is a musician recommendation! Drum roll please

*drum rolling* * cymbal crash*

Imelda May! The woman is a goddess and is my serious girl crush 😉

I first came to hear Imelda May was when my mother turned to PBS to watch a tribute to Les Paul. Imelda was performing in the most fabulous orange and gold dress I have ever seen, and her look is what got my attention initially, but then I heard her sing! Oh wow, I typically do not get terribly enthusiastic over female singers, because more often than not they sound the same as all the others, and do not impress much. Imelda has a signature sound and her vocals are KILLER! Seriously she sings with so much passion and attack you can not take your eyes off of her, and certainly cannot tune her out! I mean in order to preform next to Jeff Beck and still be the one getting the attention you have to be a powerhouse, and she is just that. Imelda sings several styles of music Blues, Jazz, and of course Rockabilly. She is not to be outdone, and I feel she is bringing rockabilly out of the underground and into the mainstream. I would highly encourage you to go out buy one of her albums because she is amazing. I own her album Mayhem and positively love it. Here is a music video of hers that I adore so check her out and let me know what you guys think. Have a Happy Musical Monday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HStk3qT82w4

Leave a comment